Aspiration Board

Aspiration's Board of Directors is comprised of individuals with a long history of engagement in the nonprofit technology assistance sector, and deep knowledge and experience in innovative work within the field of nonprofit technology.

Jonathan Peizer


Jonathan Peizer is the Board Chair and Founder of Aspiration, was the developer and director of the Open Society Institute's Internet Program, as well as the original CIO for its systems operations. Jonathan has been in the technology industry throughout his career in both the profit and non-profit sectors and on technology-related projects in 75 countries. Recently he's written a number of articles on the IT deployment in the NGO environment and philanthropic support of IT. Jonathan has held management positions in this area at Citicorp, AFS, Cheyenne Software and OSI.

Gavin Clabaugh


Gavin Clabaugh is Vice President of Information Services for the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation. Gavin oversees the administrative, developmental, and operational aspects of technology, and has overall responsibility for the Foundation's worldwide information, library, and technical services. Gavin developed a keen interest in philanthropy and technology and an expertise in technology for non-profit organizations over the past 15 years of working with scores of non-profits and foundations. Before joining the Mott Foundation, he was vice president of the Telecommunications Cooperative (TCN), a not-for-profit information technology cooperative serving thousands of NGOs and non-profit organizations worldwide. Prior to joining TCN, in 1987, Gavin was director of research for the Washington-based Present/Futures Group (formerly TRAC, Inc.), a think-tank specializing in social trend analysis and issues management. He was also senior research associate with the Naisbitt Group in Washington, D.C., and associate editor of John Naisbitt's Trend Letter. Before his formal association with the Naisbitt Group, Clabaugh was a personal consultant to John Naisbitt, and designed and managed the research process culminating in Naisbitt's best-selling book, Megatrends. 

Steve Wright


Steve Wright is Vice President, Poverty Insights at the Grameen Foundation. Steve has worked for more than 15 years at the intersection of technology and education. Before joining Grameen Foundation in August 2010, he served for a number of years as the Director of Innovation and Technology at Foundation. While there, he established himself as a thought leader in the social metrics space through extensive experience working with organizations such as the Acumen Fund, GIIN (Global Impact Investing Network) and members of ANDE (Aspen Network for Development Entrepreneurs). Steve also a long background as a high school administrator and classroom teacher, and started his career in the Peace Corps. In 1990, while teaching at Pasadena High School, he became interested in the role that electronic communications could play to promote and facilitate interactions between students in underserved communities and the rest of the world. Today, Steve’s work concentrates on helping microfinance institutions and other development organizations measure and manage their social performance using the Progress out of Poverty Index.

William Lester


William (Bill) Lester is a Senior Consultant at Humentum. A visionary in use of Information and Communications Technologies (particularly in low-resource settings), Bill is well-known in the nonprofit knowledge management and technology communities and is a popular speaker at many industry gatherings. Bill was a co-founder and Executive Director at NPOKI from 2007 to 2017. As Chief Information Officer at EngenderHealth for 15 years, Bill was instrumental in capturing and sharing the organization’s operational and programmatic best practices and lessons learned. In 2007, he was honored with NTEN’s Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2017, he was awarded the InsideNGO Operational Excellence Award for Technology. He was a Humentum board member from 2004 – 2013, a NTEN board member from 2000 – 2007, participated on the Advisory Committees for NPOWER and KABISSA, and was a NPOKI founding member. A strong proponent of social entrepreneurship, Bill works worldwide to promote and encourage problem-solvers. His personal mission is “Imagine • Build • Connect”.

Jack Aponte


Jack Aponte is a worker-owner at Palante Technology Cooperative, a NYC-based coop that helps progressive community organizations and other nonprofits move forward with the help of technology. Jack specializes in planning and building Drupal websites, open source software, social media and other Internet communications, and training and documentation. Jack is an erstwhile blogger, formerly at AngryBrownButch and Feministe and currently at Jack is involved in organizing & movements around social, digital and media justice and in queer, trans, and people of color communities.

Past Board Members

We are grateful for the service of past board members and include them here to acknowledge their service and contributions to Aspiration.

Maxwell Pearl


Maxwell Pearl received his B.A. in Natural Science and Mathematics from Bennington College, and his Ph.D. in Biology from Case Western Reserve University. Max taught at Hampshire College from 1989 through 1999, as Assistant and Associate Professor of Biology. He was involved in several grant-funded projects to enhance in-service science education for educators in the region, particularly in terms of use of technology in the classroom. He helped organize two conferences on technology in education, in 1998 and 1999. In 1995, Max started a consulting practice that served the non-profit and educational sectors, primarily in the areas of developing database-driven web-sites, the implementation of Open Source software, and strategic technology planning. He was a nationally recognized leader in the nonprofit technology field, and has authored and contributed to open-source projects.. He was on the steering committee of the Non Profit Open Source Initiative (NOSI), and was a member of the boards of the Nonprofit Technology Network, and of Aspiration from 2003 to 2005.